Heipua Teariki Bordes

Te Ora Hau is located at on the beach at Afareaitu, facing Motu Ahi and the island of Tahiti across a protected maritime area. This land has been passed down through our family for generations. That explains why I am so attached to the island of Moorea and it’s a place I constantly keep in my heart due to its beauty, people, traditions, history and environment - all of which are exceptional. For me, culture and art are the two beacons of inspiration that have guided and enriched my life.

Past generations have taught us of the fusion between the people of Moorea and its eight mountains which rise up around the caldera. They also taught the value of the “Pahu” (or drum) made of Vaiare stone - a sacred drum belonging to Vahine ‘Ura, the guardian who provides the rhythm of time. Then there is the coral ”Te maru o Tohi’e’a” at Afareitu, where the whale and her calf seek refuge before returning to the Great South… Our traditions have been passed down by oral history and our children have always been the privileged inheritors of our knowledge. The passing on of our traditions has, over the course of history, become an art form where words acquire both power and their ability to sustain and support our culture as well as revealing the history of Moorea.

Art

Completely immersed in and shaped by the legendary tales of my island, I interpret my cultural legacies in my own way through painting, poetry and photography. Painting has helped me deal with themes that are dear to my heart, such as lineage, fire, the guardian, Hina the moon goddess, Maui the son of the Sun and others – through these I have rediscovered colours, shadows, light, collages, sanguine sketches and I have tried to express our belonging to the Earth, the ocean and the stars with my brush.
I have always been a poet and my poems have inspired our Moorean dance troupe when preparing for the Heiva (an annual festival). My published poems appeal to the imagination of curious readers, who are often inspired to explore my two published books to discover more. One of those is woven around the theme of water and entitled “Hō mai te Ua “ (“Offer us rain”) and the other written with whales in mind, “Te ‘Una’Una “ (“Majesties”). "Ei Hau" is the last poem , dedicated to Peace, which inspired Heihere our Moorea dance troupe.
Through photography I try to offer another perspective of our island and our special and almost unknown universe. Knowing and understanding a little of our culture in advance helps the visitor arriving here to respect both our values and our sacred places. Guests will leave here knowing they’ve had a once in-a-life-time experience and most importantly, they’ll return home enlightened by having met “the people of the canoe” who discovered and love the isles of the Great Ocean.

Art & Culture

HEIPUA TEARIKI BORDES

Te Ora Hau est situé à Afareaitu sur la plage, face au Motu Ahi et à l’île de Tahiti dans une zone maritime protégée et sur une terre transmise depuis des générations au sein de notre famille. Ce qui explique mon attachement pour mon île Moorea et ma tendresse toute particulière pour sa beauté, son peuple, ses traditions, son histoire et son environnement exceptionnel. Culture et Art sont les deux pôles qui ont guidé, nourri et enrichi ma vie.

Les générations qui nous ont précédé nous ont enseigné le lien fusionnel entre le peuple de Moorea et ses huit montagnes qui s’élèvent autour de la caldeira, la valeur du « Pahu » de pierre de Vaiare, le tambour sacré de la gardienne Vahine ‘Ura qui rythme les évènements du temps ou le corail « Te maru o Tohi’e’a » à ‘Afareaitu où la baleine et son baleineau viennent se réfugier avant de rentrer vers le Grand Sud… Notre tradition s’est transmise oralement et nos enfants en ont toujours été les héritiers privilégiés. La transmission est devenue au cours des siècles un art où le Verbe acquiert sa puissance, soutient et révèle la trame de l’histoire de Moorea.

Art

Imprégnée des récits légendaires de mon île je les interprètes à mon tour au travers de la peinture, la poésie et la photo. La peinture m’a aidée à aborder des thèmes qui me sont chers comme la filiation, le feu, la gardienne, Hina la déesse de la lune, Maui le fils du soleil… J’ai redécouvert les couleurs, l’ombre, la lumière, le collage, les sanguines, et essayé d’exprimer avec mon pinceau notre appartenance à la Terre, l’Océan et les Etoiles.

Poète je l’ai toujours été et mes poèmes inspirent notre troupe de danse de Moorea, Heihere, qui s’apprête pour le Heiva et ouvrent l’imaginaire des lecteurs curieux de découvrir les deux livres que j’ai publié : L'invocation à la pluie bienfaitrice avec « Hō mai te Ua » ou « Offre-nous la pluie » et l'hommage aux baleines, enfants chéris de l'Océan, avec « Te ‘Una’Una » ou « Majestés ». "Ei Hau" est le dernier poème en date, dédié à la Paix, qui a nourri notre troupe de danse Heihere.
Avec la photo je transmets une autre vision de nos îles et de notre univers si spécial et en même temps si méconnu. Nous connaître aide le voyageur à aborder notre île avec le respect de nos valeurs et nos lieux sacrés, la certitude de vivre un moment unique et surtout de repartir chez soi enrichi d’avoir rencontré le peuple des pirogues qui a découvert et aimé les îles du Grand Océan.